Manisha Chhangte has been named the AIFF Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year for 2022-23

Lallianzuala Chhangte won the award over teammates Nandhakumar Sekar and Naorem Mahesh Singh, while Manisha Kalyan triumphed over Dalima Chhibber and Ngangbam Sweety Devi.

Lallianzuala Chhangte, a winger for India and Mumbai City FC, was named the AIFF Men’s Footballer of the Year on Tuesday, based on his outstanding performance in the Indian Super League (ISL) and for the national team.

The 26-year-old Mizoram player appeared in 12 matches for India during the 2022–23 international season, scoring two goals and providing one assist.

He defeated teammates Nandhakumar Sekar and Naorem Mahesh Singh to win the prestigious award.

Chhangte, who is currently on international duty at the SAFF Championships, appeared in 22 matches for the ISL Winners’ Shield-winning Mumbai City FC last season, scoring 10 goals and dishing out six assists.

During the previous season, he scored seven goals in seven Durand Cup matches and one goal in three Super Cup contests.

After its Annual General Meeting, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) named Manisha Kalyan the AIFF Women Player of the Year.

The 21-year-old forward from Punjab, who plays for the Cypriot premier division club Apollon Ladies, defeated Dalima Chhibber and Ngangbam Sweety Devi to win the award.

She was named the AIFF Women’s Emerging Footballer of the Year for 2020–21.

Clifford Miranda, a former India player, won the Men’s Coach of the Year award for leading Odisha FC to a Super Cup victory and an AFC Cup qualification.

Priya Parathi Valappil was named Coach of the Year for Women.

Priya, a former India international, currently serves as the head coach of the India women’s U-17 team.

Another Mumbai City FC player, Akash Mishra, and a member of the India U-17 team, Shilji Shaji, were named the Men’s and Women’s Emerging Players of the Year, respectively.

Famous former players, including former captains Shabbir Ali, IM Vijayan, and Bhaichung Bhutia, selected the best players and coaches for the 2022-23 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

our website is completly depends on ad revenue please disable ad blocker and support us. don't worry we will not use any popup ads you can see only ads by google.